Just My Type

Hero Arts My Type Cling Stamp; October Afternoon Thrift Shop Wild Card; Stampin’ Up! Digital Typewriter Numbers Stamp Brush Set; Vintage Typewriter Words: Creativity Sentiments by ScrapRatShop.etsy.com; Cosmo Cricket Circa 1934/Chaplin paper; Kate Spade Typewriter Notes Gift Set; Wooden Typewriter Keys by porkchopshow.etsy.com; 1960s Vintage Typewriter at YesterdaysSilhouette.etsy.com; Studio Calico Red Typeset rub-on

Eek! Has it really been a month since I’ve updated this blog?! I vowed to myself when I started this I would at least make it once a week but somehow January flew by and it’s already almost mid-February! I have been very busy working on wedding invitation orders outside of work, and while I’ve still been trendwatching (aka stalking CHA coverage!) I haven’t had a chance to compile all my ideas into an actual post.

Alas… just the push I needed was none other than the amazing editors at Paper Crafts Magazine! I was so excited to see my brand-new blog included on their Designer Blog Roll tonight, and knew that it would only be fair to new visitors to whip up a quick post. If you are coming to this blog via Paper Crafts… welcome! I hope you check back often, as I’ll do my best to update moving forward (promise!)

Now… onto the actual subject of the post!

This is a post that has been sitting in my drafts folder for a few weeks, but I’m so excited to share these finds because this is one of my favorite trends of the moment. I don’t consider myself a “vintage”-style designer, but I think this is a trend anyone can incorporate into their projects. These items show just the range of styles — from punny (Hero Arts stamps) to classy (Kate Spade stationery). Typewriter icons themselves could be cool accompanying retro family photos or yearbook shots in scrapbooks, or you could use a typewriter font for journaling or card sentiments. It’s a refreshing alternative to typical, modern, or cutesy fonts, and is versatile enough to work with any theme. Or consider an actual typewriter (one of the many items on my ever-growing wishlist). A desktop typewriter could come in handy when you don’t feel like hand-writing your words and don’t have the time to find a font online, download it, install it, type your words in Word, then print it out. Plus, the typewriter itself (in a funky color) could add a fun flair to your crafting space.

This entry was posted in Hot Products & Trends, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

