Sketches + Flowers

The last Go-To Sketches issue

Tonight’s post is inspired by a current call for submissions at Paper Crafts Magazine. I’m really excited to be a part of a special upcoming issue, Go-to Sketches for Card Makers. I remember picking up the last Go-to Sketches special issue that came out and being so inspired by the Go-To Gals’ awesome sketches and all the designer interpretations! It’s always so fun to see the original idea and how creative crafters use it as a springboard for design, and then get ideas on how I could take my own spin.  I was not a contributor to the last issue, but this time five of my original sketches (!) will be featured in the issue. And now is the time for any crafter to submit cards to the editors based on these and 79 others. As you can imagine, I can’t wait to see the final issue and how designers will interpret my sketches!

As you browse through all the sketches (available for download here), you’ll notice the  little “flower” icon throughout. A “flower” in a sketch represents any type of embellishment, but since I’m eagerly awaiting spring… I thought it would be fun to share some of my favorite floral embellishments of the moment:


BasicGrey Hopscotch Bloomers; Sassafras Lass In A Stitch Blossoms; KI Memories Puffies Pink Blooms;Red Petals ‘n Wings Stickers – evalicious.bigcartel.com; Prima Clementine Vines Olivia Flowers

While a few years ago realistic flowers were all the rage, it seems that the hottest floral embellishments now are more homespun. They’ve got petals of made of fabric and paper, and button/rhinestone centers. And since these florals are not as feminine, they can be used on so many different projects (not just frilly/girly cards ….although they’re fun for that use too). I’d love to see what you create using these or similar floral embellishments — and any cards based on a sketch.

(P.S. Submissions for Go-To Sketches for Cardmakers are due Monday, so don’t delay in making and submitting your cards!)
This entry was posted in As Seen In..., Hot Products & Trends, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Sketches + Flowers

  1. Natasha says:

    How did I not know about your blog until now? Whelp. I’ve added it to my list to follow so I can keep up with your amazingness. Oh and ps. Your signature on your “about” page is to die for. I wish I had your handwriting.

Leave a Reply

