Inspired by Place

Today we looked at our first possible wedding venue! So, I can say I have officially started “the planning” beyond bookmarking websites and dog-earing bridal magazines!

Deciding the wedding location will probably be the biggest party-planning decision we’ll make (not to mention the biggest chunk of the budget). For other brides I’ve seen that this decision can directly influence several other design elements, including stationery.

A park-inspired wedding invitation, handmade by me.

Last summer I made the wedding invitations for one of my best friends (who is also one of my bridesmaids). When she told me the wedding would take place in a park – I immediately thought of this tree rubber stamp from Stampin’ Up! that I had had in my stash for years. This was the first sample invitation I made for her out of three mock-ups I showed her and her fiancee, and ended up being the one she chose. (On a side note, that happens alot – so designers, go with your gut when it comes to creating something for someone else… you’re probably on the right track!) We paired it with a rich brown and printed it on a natural cardstock to further the nature theme.

A save the date I designed, featuring a Philadelphia skyline photo by my fiancee.

I designed this photo save the date just for fun to add to my portfolio. My fiancee is a photographer and got this amazing photo of the Philly skyline (it is one of my favorites he’s ever taken… my photo of his photo does not do it justice!) Here are some other ideas for incorporating photos of your wedding location into your stationery: If you can’t get a pic of a skyline (I think this involved my fiancee standing on the roof of an apartment building…), it’s easy to take other photos when you go to visit your venue. Snap a photo of a nearby bridge or scenic road (or a road sign), or zoom in on an interesting architectural element (like an arch or a doorway). Simple photos with lots of white space work best, so keep in mind you’ll want to have room to add your text to the photo.

Miami Fun save the date by Wedding Paper Divas; Charmed Washington DC invitation by Bella Figura; Golden Gate Bridge invitation by Hello! Lucky; Texas Vineyard Collection by LaBellaVieDesign.etsy.com

I found these other examples of wedding invitations inspired by place: A hot Miami save-the-date; a formal DC invite in letterpress; a quirky, hand-drawn San Francisco invite; and a grapevine suite (perfect for a wedding in a vineyard). For more ideas, check out this piece that BRIDES recently ran on location-inspired stationery.

This entry was posted in Inspired By..., Occasions, Projects, Uncategorized, Wedding, Wedding. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Inspired by Place

  1. Natasha says:

    I have always loved the Tree Wedding Invitations you did. So classy.

  2. Alicia Clark says:

    I am planning a surprise birthday party and the theme is Miami nightclub. Do you have invites that would match my theme

    • Hi Alicia, I am not currently selling invites, but you could check out some of the sites in my round-up above for some fun Miami invites. Good luck with the party planning, and thanks for stopping by my blog! ~Stephanie

Leave a Reply

