DIY Invitation Elements Inspired By Bridal Gowns

Time for a wedding-planning blog post!

I haven’t started looking at wedding gowns yet (unless dog-earing magazine pages and bookmarking websites count) but I imagine it will be either the toughest or easiest part of wedding planning for the same reason: I think I will find something beautiful about every gown I try on! Last weekend I attended a bridal show and there was a gorgeous fashion show presented by the VanCleve Wedding Pavilion. My two bridesmaids who came along with me can attest to the fact that nearly every gown that came down the mall runway ellicited the same response from me: “ooh that is soo pretty!”

The great thing about bridal gowns is that no matter which one you choose there will be some design element that can inspire other parts of the wedding, including the invitations and decor. I found some gorgeous gowns and paper-crafting embellishments to match. Here are some ideas for using these dress-inspired design elements in your DIY stationery:

Casablanca Bridal Gown; Prima Self-Adhesive Jewel Art Ribbon Borders

For a beaded gown…
Consider incorporating sparkly rhinestones as a focal point, or apply beaded trim (like the self-adhesive Prima borders above) across the top or along the side of the invitation. Because rhinestones can get pricey if you’re planning to make and send out a bunch of invites, look to buy crystals in bulk from wholesale sellers or reserve them for smaller-quantity projects (thank-you’s for your parents and bridal party, for instance).

David’s Bridal Gown; Pink Paislee Fabric Pleat Strips

For a pleated gown…
Attach pre-made pleated fabric strips to an invitation (the quickest approach), or make your own pleats by folding ribbon or paper. Keep the pleats in place by running them through a sewing machine.

Watters Bridal Gown; Melissa Frances Organza Cream Rose

For a gown with a flower detail…
This is easy enough! Find a matching flower then use glue dots to affix it to the outside of an invitation pocket or onto the invitation itself. Don’t surprised if you get sticker shock: the more fancy the flower, the more it will cost per piece. Bulky flowers can also add to the postage cost. An alternative would be to use a flower punch on a specialty paper like vellum or metallic paper. Punched-out embellishments are less expensive, easy to crank out dozens in a few minutes, and flat for mailing.

Pronovias Bridal Gown and Veil; Clunny Lace from Joyce Trimmings

For a lace gown…
Find a lace trim in a similar style (this is key: some lace screams picnic while another suggests ballroom), and use it as a bellyband wrap to keep the invitation elements together. In the wedding decor, you could use lace doilies to make a banner or place a lace overlay on top of the regular table linens.

Out of all the gowns… this one is my favorite! There’s something about lace I find so elegant. I can definitely see myself in a lace gown or using lace in my wedding stationery/decor. Which of these trends (beaded, pleated, flower detail or lace) do you like best?

This entry was posted in Hot Products & Trends, Occasions, Projects, Uncategorized, Wedding, Wedding. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to DIY Invitation Elements Inspired By Bridal Gowns

  1. Nikki says:

    Oh no! You’re one of those brides that likes everything ;) I love all those dresses too though so I guess I can’t blame you. The dress I chose I wrinkled my nose at when the lady brought it out…but I fell in love, the 2nd time I put it on! Good luck with the search!

Leave a Reply

