Harvest Home Decor

“Bless This Home” frame I made for Paper Crafts magazine

Even though I’ve started Christmas crafting, I’m not quite ready yet to break out the lights and evergreens. I’ve always loved Thanksgiving, so before I post some items I’m working on for Christmas, thought I’d share some simple harvest home decor that I created for Paper Crafts magazine‘s fall issue.

The frame above is shown sitting on a not-intentionally-matching table runner – I love how well the frame happened to coordinate with the rest of our Thanskgiving decorations! It’s a basic white picture frame from Kohl’s and I used letter stickers and my own handwriting to create the design. A dimensional leaf sticker, satin ribbon and some pearls finish the frame.

A close-up of the frame.

I played with the glass layer: “This Home” is underneath the glass, but everything else is over it. When making framed decor, always keep in mind which parts of your design are clunky under glass and which lay flat. Most embellishments are best to be adhered on top of glass.

Leaf print coaster set I made for Paper Crafts magazine

The next project I made appeared on the cover (woo hoo!) and is one of the most functional paper-crafting projects I’ve ever created. I use my leaf print coasters everyday. These were made from a $10 photo coaster set from Michaels, but rather than using photos inside, I designed inserts that feature pretty Martha Stewart Crafts leaf stickers. I used a basic masking technique with some Papertrey Ink stamps to create the backgrounds and to spell out “faith,” “hope,” “love” and “joy.”

The great thing about these coasters is that you can swap out the inserts and use them year-round. I’ll be making some Christmasy inserts for these coasters for sure :)

Paper Crafts cover girl again… yay!!

Paper Crafts’ holiday issue is out now, and both the Sept/Oct and Nov/Dec issues are packed with dozens of awesome (and easy) holiday projects. I’m always blown away by the talent of amazing designers and so honored to be featured in Paper Crafts’ pages. You can get your copies (print or digital) here.

Thanks for stopping by my blog to see some of these harvest-themed decor projects. I’ll be posting some ideas for Thanksgiving place settings soon!

This entry was posted in As Seen In..., Home Decor, Occasions, Projects, Thanksgiving, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

