Christmas Cards 2012: Using the Silhouette to Make Holiday Cards

Silhouette Reindeer Handmade Christmas Card

I always look forward to making Christmas cards. Some years I’ll start as early as November developing a general idea or buying some supplies. But life has been so crazy lately, that suddenly I realized December had snuck up on me and I wasn’t quite sure what I would be doing for my holiday cards this year.

Things lightened up a few weekends ago, and thankfully I was also hit with the creative itch! For the first time, I managed to plan, buy supplies for, make, print envelopes and fill out all my 50-some cards in one weekend. And far from being exhausting… since I hadn’t crafted in a few weeks… I had so much fun!

When I started thinking about what I wanted to make, I knew I wanted to do a flat design so I wouldn’t need extra postage or special envelopes… which made my die-cut Silhouette machine an obvious choice for a helpful tool. Holiday cards were also a good pre-wedding test project, to see if the machine could handle a gazillion cuts in a row. (And for the record, it did! I need a new cutting mat, but the machine itself didn’t seem the least bit tired ;)

Each card included two parts adhered together. I picked up the cards at Michaels. (Extra excitement here for an awesome Christmas sale that made these my most affordable cards yet.)

Here’s a peek into the process:

Using a Silhouette machine to make Christmas cards

First I print all the inside card pieces. The front of this card is the metallic sheen that shows through to the die-cut design.

Using a Silhouette machine to make Christmas cards

Next I print each of the front (overlay) card pieces, and cut the deer design using the Silhouette. (Don’t mind the jagged leftover outline next to the card… ugh! What happens when you play with the cut thickness settings. Lesson learned…)

Using the Silhouette to make a Christmas card

Here’s what the front of the card looks like, before the inside piece is adhered to it.
By the way… in case you’re wondering where the deer motif came from… I purchased the design from the Silhouette store, then mirrored the deer together to make the motif. I’m happy with how it turned out, especially since the design avoids intricate cuts… a timesaver when making a bunch of cards.

Using the Silhouette to make handmade holiday cards

Here’s a prettier photo of what the card looks like before the insert, above.
Below, what it looks like with the insert in but not adhered.

Silhouette-Handmade-Christmas-Card-3

Christmas card inside message
Here’s a better shot of the inside message.

metallic envelopes

The shimmer envelopes also came from Michaels. I discovered that my EPSON can print without smearing on metallic  papers. Much easier than printing separate labels. I always like printing directly on envelopes when it’s possible.
Deer motif on back of Christmas envelope 
Another cool discovery I made was that I could print the deer motif directly onto the envelopes from the Silhouette software. I swear I’m probably the only person to have the machine for almost a year before realizing the print function of the Silhouette, but I always figured the “print and cut” option required separate software or cartridges or something. (I’m happy it doesn’t!!)

Handmade Christmas cards

If you make your own cards… don’t forget to put the year on the back! A fun project could be to create a yearly album with each year’s Christmas cards inside. This would also be a nice scrapbook idea for photo Christmas cards.

Thanks for stopping by to see my Christmas cardmaking process. Did you make your cards this year? Would love to see a link to your cards… feel free to leave a comment!

I’m hoping to be back tomorrow with some of my Christmas packages all dolled up…

This entry was posted in Cards, Christmas & Winter, Occasions, Projects, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Christmas Cards 2012: Using the Silhouette to Make Holiday Cards

  1. Sarah says:

    Wow, what a gorgeous card. Can I be cheeky & ask what fonts you used on the front of the card & for the insert. Thanks

  2. dalal says:

    Where can I find the same paper that you used

Leave a Reply

